Faculty of Medicine

FSV? Fachschaft? FSI?

For each course of study at FAU there is a student counsil initiative (Fachschaftsinitiative/FSI), usually simply called “Fachschaft”. Every student of the course of studies can join his or her FSI.
Tasks of the FSIs are, for example, distributing scripts, collecting old minutes of the exams, organizing parties or the introduction days for first semester students for their respective degree program.
Various working groups that are committed to more specific health, social or study-related topics are also part of the FSIs.
A list of the FSIs with contact details can be found here.

The faculty student counsil (FSV), on the other hand, is a body laid down in the FAU’s Basic Rules. Its members are elected at the university elections and are thus legitimized. This is important because the representatives are then entitled to vote in various committees and commissions, both of the faculty and the university, on an equal footing with the professors.

Members
The members of the FSV are Jannik Alomo (FSV-Speaker, Medicine), Miriam Baron (Medicine), Lisa Heger (Medicine), Jonas Lanfer (Medicine), Jenny Buhl (Dentistry), Magdalena Bolsinger (Molecular Medicine), Jesse Rupprecht (Medicine), Vincent Hauser (Medicine) und Paul Wagner (Molecular Medicine).

Tasks of the FSV
Our task is to represent the students’ interests towards the faculty and the university. To this end, we are active in various committees, as described above:

  • Faculty Council: The four elected with the most votes are sent to the Faculty Council. This is, under the Faculty Board, in which the Dean and the Vice Deans sit, the highest body and decision-making organ of the Faculty.
  • Study Grant Commission: Here, approximately 1.3 million euros are awarded annually to improve teaching. Among other things, the anvil campus license and student tutors are paid from these funds.
  • Appeals committees: Members of the FSV are involved when new professors are appointed to FAU. It is our task to ensure that not only high-ranking researchers are appointed, but also people for whom good teaching is important.
  • Student Convention: The FSV sends three members to the student convention, the student parliament. The Student Parliament elects the Speaker’s Council as executive body and determines the basic orientation of the student representation through its position papers.

This is only one part of our tasks; we also meet regularly with the persons responsible for the degree programmes and the dean’s office staff in order to implement our higher education policy goals.
In addition, we are the students’ contact persons for general problems during their studies or with professors and can often serve as mediators.
We are also the contact person for the study rooms of the Faculty of Medicine, should there be any problems in this regard.
We have a certain amount of money with which we can support the FSIs, e.g. with travel costs or the purchase of office materials or similar. If you have any questions in this regard, please write us an email.

Contact and meetings
You can reach us by mail to fsv-med@fau.de.
Our meeting takes place every Tuesday at 7 pm in the basement of Schuhstraße 19. The sessions are public, so come by if you are interested! You can already do this as Ersti 😉

Medizinische Fakultät

 

FSV? Fachschaft? FSI?
Für jeden Studiengang an der FAU gibt es eine Fachschaftsinitiative (FSI), meistens einfach „Fachschaft“ genannt. Jede*r Studierende des Studiengangs kann sich in seiner FSI engagieren.
Aufgaben der FSIen sind zum Beispiel verteilen von Skripten, sammeln von Altprotokollen der Examina, Organisation von Partys oder der Einführungstage für Erstsemester für ihren jeweiligen Studiengang.
Auch verschiedene AGs, die sich für spezifischere gesundheitliche, gesellschaftliche oder studiumsrelevante Themen einsetzen, sind Teil der FSIen.
Eine Liste der FSIen mit Kontaktdaten findet ihr hier.

Die Fachschaftsvertretung (FSV) hingegen ist ein in der Grundordnung der FAU festgelegtes Gremium. Ihre Mitglieder werden bei den Hochschulwahlen gewählt und damit legitimiert. Das ist wichtig, weil die Vertreter*innen dann in verschiedenen Gremien und Kommissionen, sowohl der Fakultät als auch der Universität, auf Augenhöhe mit den Professor*innen stimmberechtigt sind.

Mitglieder
Die vier Mitglieder im Fakultätsrat sind Julian Espenberger (Fachschaftssprecher), Jonas Lanfer, Lisa Heger und Luisa Mathern, die fünf Ersatzvertreter Lucas Hoffmann, Jannik Alomo, Freia Grahn, Vincent Hauser und Lina Dinse.

Aufgaben der FSV
Unsere Aufgabe ist, die Interessen der Studierenden der Fakultät und der Universität gegenüber zu vertreten. Dafür sind wir, wie oben schon beschrieben, in verschiedenen Gremien aktiv:

  • Fakultätsrat: Die vier Gewählten mit den meisten Stimmen werden in den Fakultätsrat entsendet. Dieses ist, unter dem Fakultätsvorstand, in dem der Dekan und die Prodekane sitzen, das höchste Gremium und Beschlussorgan der Fakultät.
  • Studienzuschusskommission: Hier werden jährlich ca. 1,3 Mio. Euro vergeben, die der Lehrverbesserung dienen. Unter anderem die Amboss-Campuslizenz und studentische Tutoren werden aus diesen Geldern bezahlt.
  • Berufungsausschüsse: Mitglieder der FSV sind eingebunden, wenn neue Professor*innen an die FAU berufen werden. Unsere Aufgabe ist, darauf zu achten, dass nicht nur hochrangige Forscher*innen berufen werden, sondern auch Menschen, denen eine gute Lehre wichtig ist.
  • Studentischer Konvent: Die FSV entsendet drei Mitglieder in den studentischen Konvent, das Studierendenparlament. Diese wählt den Sprecher*innenrat als ausführendes Organ und legt über ihre Positionspapiere die grundsätzliche Ausrichtung der Studierendenvertretung fest.

Das ist nur ein Teil unserer Aufgaben, wir treffen uns auch regelmäßig mit den Studiengangsverantwortlichen und Dekanatsmitarbeiter*innen, um unsere hochschulpolitischen Ziele umzusetzen.
Zudem sind wir die Ansprechpartner der Studierenden bei allgemeinen Problemen im Studium oder mit Professor*innen und können häufig als Vermittler dienen.
Auch für die Lernräume der Medizinischen Fakultät sind wir Ansprechpartner, sollte es diesbezüglich Probleme geben.
Wir haben einen gewissen Geldtopf, mit dem wir die FSIen bspw. bei Fahrtkosten oder Anschaffungen von Büromaterialien o.Ä. unterstützen können. Falls ihr diesbezüglich Anfragen habt, schreibt uns bitte eine Mail.

Kontakt und Sitzungen
Ihr erreicht uns per Mail an fsv-med@fau.de.
Unsere Sitzung findet jeden Dienstag, 19 Uhr in der Schuhstraße 19 im Untergeschoss statt. Die Sitzungen sind öffentlich, also kommt vorbei, wenn ihr interessiert seid! Das geht auch schon als Ersti 😉